THESE MINUTES ARE UNOFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED BY THE BOARD AND SIGNED BY THE CHAIRMAN & EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

SPECIAL CALLED BOARD MEETING COBB COUNTY, GEORGIA TUESDAY, JANUARY 7, 2025

The Cobb County Board of Education met in a Special Called Board Meeting on Tuesday, January 7, 2025, at 12:30 p.m., with the following members present: Messrs. Chastain, Cristadoro, Hutchins, Scamihorn, Wheeler, Ms. Sayler, Ms. Davis, Mr. Ragsdale, Executive Secretary, and Ms. Wilcox and Ms. Ams, Board Attorneys.

All official meetings of the Cobb County Board of Education conform to state law and are open to the public. The minutes of this meeting are available for public review anytime during the regular office hours or on our website at: <u>www.cobbk12.org</u>.

CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE

Mr. Scamihorn, Board Chair, called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m. and led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

OATHS OF OFFICE

Newly elected and re-elected Board Members were publicly sworn into office during the ceremonial swearing-in ceremony. The official oaths were administered earlier in the day.

- The Honorable Kellie Hill of the Cobb Superior Court administered the oath to re-elected Board Member Mr. Leroy Tre' Hutchins, Post 3
- The Honorable Marsha Lake of the State Court of Cobb County administered the oath to reelected Board Member Mr. Randy Scamihorn, Post 1
- The Honorable Marsha Lake of the State Court of Cobb County administered the oath to reelected Board Member Mr. Brad Wheeler, Post 7
- The Honorable Marsha Lake of the State Court of Cobb County administered the oath to newly elected Board Member Mr. John Cristadoro, Post 5

REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

Mr. Scamihorn opened the floor for 2025 Board Chair nominations.

- Mr. Wheeler nominated Mr. Chastain for 2025 Board Chair
- Ms. Davis nominated Mr. Hutchins for 2025 Board Chair
- With no other nominations, Mr. Scamihorn called for the vote

Messrs. Chastain, Cristadoro, Scamihorn, and Wheeler voted in favor of Mr. Chastain.

Ms. Davis, Mr. Hutchins, and Ms. Sayler voted in favor of Mr. Hutchins.

With four (4) votes, Mr. Chastain was elected to serve as the 2025 Board Chair.

Mr. Scamihorn, Board Chair, opened the floor for 2025 Board Vice-Chair nominations.

- Ms. Sayler nominated Mr. Hutchins for 2025 Board Vice-Chair
- Mr. Chastain nominated Mr. Cristadoro for 2025 Board Vice-Chair
- With no other nominations, Mr. Scamihorn called for the vote

Ms. Davis, Mr. Hutchins, and Ms. Sayler voted in favor of Mr. Hutchins. Messrs. Chastain, Cristadoro, Scamihorn, and Wheeler voted in favor of Mr. Cristadoro.

With four (4) votes, Mr. Cristadoro was elected to serve as the 2025 Board Vice-Chair.

Mr. Chastain took his seat as the new Board Chair and continued with the meeting agenda.

ACTION AGENDA

ACTION AGENDA ITEM #1 - Recommendation for Approval of the 2025 Board Meeting Schedule

- Mr. Scamihorn made a motion, seconded by Mr. Wheeler, to accept the 2025 Board Meeting Schedule as presented.
- Discussion followed.
- Ms. Sayler made a motion, seconded by Ms. Davis, to amend the presented schedule to allow for separate Work Sessions and Voting Sessions. Following discussion, motion to amend failed 4-3. Messrs. Chastain, Cristadoro, Scamihorn, and Wheeler voted "Nay," and Ms. Davis, Mr. Hutchins, and Ms. Sayler voted "Yea."
- Ms. Sayler made a motion, seconded by Ms. Davis, to amend the original motion to approve the 2025 Board Meeting Schedule as presented and to add a Board Retreat to the calendar. Following discussion, motion to amend failed 4-3. Messrs. Chastain, Cristadoro, Scamihorn, and Wheeler voted "Nay," and Ms. Davis, Mr. Hutchins, and Ms. Sayler voted "Yea."
- Ms. Sayler made a motion, seconded by Mr. Hutchins, to amend the original motion to change the date of the February 2025 meeting due to a personal scheduling conflict. Motion to amend failed 4-3 with Messrs. Chastain, Cristadoro, Scamihorn, and Wheeler voting "Nay," and Ms. Davis, Mr. Hutchins, and Ms. Sayler voting "Yea."
- The original motion passed 5-2. Messrs. Chastain, Cristadoro, Hutchins, Scamihorn, and Wheeler voted "Yea," and Ms. Davis and Ms. Sayler voted "Nay."

ADJOURN

Without objection the meeting adjourned at 12:52 p.m.

Board Chair